Crafting Thursday!

Ah, I can not believe that Christmas is right around the corner. That I forgot until the other day I was going home for the holiday. Not only am I going to see my family but I’m meeting my best friend for lunch, shopping and of course to exchange gifts tomorrow before she leaves for Texas.

So realizing I had no presents ready for our gift exchange I started to panic and think of what I could get her. I had two options go buy her something or make her something, and I love crafting and using my creative side and making things.

So one blog I follow and read religiously is the Free People Blog.  Scrolling through their DIY section, I came across the 3 ingredient body scrub.  So one thing I know is that my best friend absolutely loves body care products, like lotions, scrubs, ect., she always has a hay day in bath and body works.

So today I went an faced the madness of everyone else like me who did not realize that Christmas is only a few days away. I went to whole foods to their whole body section and bought some of their essential oils. I bought rose absolute its sweet, subtle and feminine. I also bought the oil named energize. Energize speaks for its self. It has hints of lemon in it, its a bright scent that will definitely energize you. I also bought the scent sage, just to have for the future. I’m obsessed with the scent sage, if something says it has sage in it I 99.9% of the time buy it.

I used the rose absolute and energize to make the body scrubs. In the recipe on free people it says to add a little of the essential oils. But to me I felt like the olive oil was extremely over powering for the rose absolute that I ended up adding enough until I could faintly smell the essential oil through the olive oil.

IMG_1407

Now, what do you put the scrub in after you make it? A cute jar of course! So after whole foods I ventured to the craft store, which was also insanely busy! I bought mason jars, burlap and scrapbook paper. I then took the burlap and wrapped it around the mason jar and glued it on to the mason jar with hot glue. I wanted to buy rope to tie around the burlap and add a cute flower to it but I could not find any rope so I voided that idea, but I will definitely use that idea for a future craft session.  For the scrapbook paper I used it to cover the label and barcode scanner on the lid. I just used a glue stick to glue that onto the lid. Then I placed the scrub in the jars and labeled them. By the time I realized I needed to take a picture of them I wrapped them up. So I took a picture of the rose scrub I made for my self. 🙂

Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays

Good Vibes to all! 🙂

Leave a comment